Stay up to date with Responsibility.org

State Map

SELECT A STATE from the National Totals dropdown menu to view statistics about impaired driving and underage drinking.

SELECT A LAW to view the details of each state’s impaired driving and underage drinking laws.

See how your state measures up to the rest of the country!

State Law: Marijuana Drug-Impaired Driving Laws
  • Zero tolerance for THC only
  • Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites
  • Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites (applies only to drivers under age 21)
  • THC per se (1 nanogram)
  • THC per se (2 nanograms)
  • THC per se (3 nanograms)
  • THC per se (5 nanograms)
  • Reasonable inference THC law (5 nanograms)
  • No marijuana-specific drugged driving law

* For states without a marijuana-specific per se drugged driving law, an impairment-based statute exists that requires law enforcement to prove impairment of the driver. Successful prosecution depends on documented behavioral evidence and recent drug use.

** West Virginia’s per se law applies to state-registered medical cannabis users.

To submit a law update, please contact out Director of Traffic Safety at erin.holmes@responsibility.org

2015 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatality Data National
Total Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities 10,265
Percent of Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities of Total Fatalities 29.3
Under 21 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities 1,021
Percent of Under 21 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities of Total Under 21 Fatalities 23.0
2015 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100,000 Population
Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K population 3.2
Under 21 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K population 1.2
2006-2015 % Change in Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K Pop
10-year Change in Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K pop -29.0
10-year Change in Under 21 Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities per 100K pop -49.7
Percent of Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatalities Involving high BAC drivers (.15+)*
BAC=.15+ 69.2
Percent of Drivers in Fatal Crashes Involving Repeat Offenders
BAC .08-.14 27.0
BAC .15+ 73.0
12-20 Year Old Alcohol Consumption (latest available)
Past Month Alcohol Consumption (2014-2015) 21.6
Binge Drinking in Past 30-days (2012-2014) 14.4
2015 Arrest Data
Under 18: Driving under the influence 5,064
Total: Driving under the influence 833,833
Under 18: Liquor laws 33,155
Total: Liquor laws 204,665
Under 18: Drunkenness 4,243
Total: Drunkenness 314,856

Alcohol-Impaired Driving Fatality Data Source: NHTSA/FARS, 10/16

*Among drivers with a known alcohol test result

*Youth Consumption Data Source: SAMHSA, Office of Applied Studies, National Survey on Drug Use and Health, 12/15, (http://www.samhsa.gov/data/population-data-nsduh)

*Arrest Data Source: 2015 FBI Uniform Crime Report (Tables 38 and 69)

**Drunkenness is not considered a crime in some states; therefore, the figures may vary widely from state to state

*Limited, incomplete, or no data were reported by the District of Columbia, Florida, Illinois, and New York in the 2015 Uniform Crime Report. Data should be used with caution and should not be compared to other states or previous year data.

Note: Because the number of agencies submitting arrest data varies from year to year, users are cautioned about making direct comparisons between 2015 arrest totals and those published in previous years’ editions of Crime in the United States. Further, arrest figures may vary widely from state to state because some Part II crimes of the Uniform Crime Report are not considered crimes in some states.

For a comprehensive report on the 2015 (latest available) State of Drunk Driving Fatalities in America, click here.

State State Law
Alabama No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Alaska No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Arizona Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites
Arkansas No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
California No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Colorado Reasonable inference THC law (5 nanograms)
Connecticut No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Delaware Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites
District of Columbia No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Florida No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Georgia Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites
Hawaii No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Idaho No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Illinois THC per se (5 nanograms)
Indiana Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites
Iowa Zero tolerance for THC only
Kansas No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Kentucky No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Louisiana No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Maine No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Maryland No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Massachusetts No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Michigan Zero tolerance for THC only
Minnesota No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Mississippi No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Missouri No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Montana THC per se (5 nanograms)
Nebraska No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Nevada THC per se (2 nanograms)
New Hampshire No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
New Jersey No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
New Mexico No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
New York No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
North Carolina No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
North Dakota No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Ohio THC per se (2 nanograms)
Oklahoma Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites
Oregon No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Pennsylvania THC per se (1 nanogram)
Rhode Island Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites
South Carolina No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
South Dakota Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites (applies only to drivers under age 21)
Tennessee No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Texas No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Utah Zero tolerance for THC and metabolites
Vermont No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Virginia No marijuana-specific drugged driving law
Washington THC per se (5 nanograms)
West Virginia THC per se (3 nanograms)
Wisconsin Zero tolerance for THC only
Wyoming No marijuana-specific drugged driving law